The Dann Chronicles
The Dann Chronicles Podcast
The Dann Chronicles: July 🛝
1
0:00
-14:48

The Dann Chronicles: July 🛝

Productive mornings, some alarmist warnings, a novel pasta shape, a new way to pour, and a chicken named Jack.
1

July 2022


Hey all,

I've been feeling productive recently. I love these periods of time, because they allow me to not only sink my teeth into my new job, but also have the energy to extend my productivity beyond my nine-to-five. I've been doing things like reading more than average, working on new blog posts, and making progress on a few hobbies/side projects I've been neglecting.

I've never quite learned how to harness this do-all-the-things energy 365. Instead, I know to just lean in as much as possible when I naturally feel this motivation, and forgive myself when it seems like my day job is all I can muster.

It's always easy for me to measure if I'm in a productivity period or not. As an early riser, I usually have around 1.5 to 2 hours in the morning between when I wake up and when we go to the gym. When I'm feeling productive, I'll spend this time reading, writing, project planning, etc. If I'm not feeling productive, it's usually Reddit and video games. I'm happy with myself regardless of the activity I naturally choose, but it is always rewarding when I use that time to get stuff done.

Let's see how much creative output I can release into the world before I'm back to just Binding of Isaac.

-Dann


🌎 Cannier Valley

Catfishing is getting out of hand. In case you missed it, the FBI is warning companies about scammers using deepfakes to apply for remote work positions.

That's right, deepfakes have gotten so good that scammers can generate both fake audio and video on the fly, attempting to trick hiring managers during live interviews.

It's not perfect just yet:

Complaints report the use of voice spoofing, or potentially voice deepfakes, during online interviews of the potential applicants. In these interviews, the actions and lip movement of the person seen interviewed on-camera do not completely coordinate with the audio of the person speaking.

But perfection is only a matter of time. Audio and video syncing is only a technical limitation, and the technology is improving every day.

The catfish isn't just tricking you into a date, they're now also trying to steal your trade secrets. Proceed with caution.


🚨 With (Alarm) Bells On

Speaking of warnings issued by governments, New York City just released a new Public Service Announcement explaining what we should all do in case of a nuclear attack. Yes, "the big one" (their words, not mine).

If this PSA sets off alarm bells for you, then you're an idiot, according to New York Mayor Eric Adams. "No, I don't think it was alarmist," he said, explaining that the video is a response to Russia's attack on Ukraine. You know, the conflict that started six months ago.

He further clarified that the PSA —which explains specifically what do to in case of a nuclear attack — "doesn't mean just a nuclear attack, it's any natural disaster."

I guess I'll be "removing and bagging all outer clothing to keep radioactive dust or ash away from my body" the next time we have a hurricane.


🍽 Feeling Saucy

The world of pasta has always felt immutable to me. There are over 350 different shapes of pasta, more than most people could try in a lifetime. It has never felt like a space that's ripe for innovation. And yet…

One of Time Magazine's best inventions of 2021 may have slipped under your radar. The invention, you guessed it, is a brand new shape of pasta. Named Cascatelli (literally, "waterfalls"), it was designed by James Beard Award winner Dan Pashman to satisfy three distinct pasta qualities: sauceability, forkability, toothsinkability.

I finally got my hands on a box, and I must say: it's the bee's knees. "Toothsinkability" and mouthfeel are particularly on point. This new shape is a welcome addition to the family, in my book.

A pack of four 16oz boxes will cost you $22 (plus shipping), which makes it a bit pricier than the pasta you'll find at your local grocery store. But it's also not totally unreasonable for those who want a taste of some real homegrown innovation.


🥤 Oh-so-foam-y

I recently discovered Pepsi Nitro Vanilla at my local Wegmans grocery store. I grabbed a couple, poured one, and was disappointed. It wasn't quite at creamy as I expected a nitro-brew to be.

A little bit of research revealed that I've been pouring nitro drinks all wrong. I fixed my mistakes for the second can, and it was 1000x better.

The trick is to hold the can at a 90 degree angle when you first crack it open, allowing the compressed nitro to flow through the drink as you're pouring. Like this.

Next time you find yourself with a can of nitro-infused beverage, give it a try. It really is night and day.


🐔 All work and no chicken

I've been enjoying sharing a fun video as the final link in my newsletter. So I think I'll keep it up indefinitely.

I've long been a fan of the weird and inappropriate Nick DenBoer (Smearballs). But this 5-minute short from 2016, made with Davy Force, might just be his masterpiece. I'm not alone in this opinion, it was the Official selection of both TIFF40 and Sundance that year.

The Chickening takes real footage from the classic Kubrick movie The Shining, and overlays wild CGI animation to make an entirely different story.

It's a genius idea, and one that was pitched to be a full series. That idea didn't end up going anywhere (I can only imagine the amount of work that went into this video) but we did end up with this pitch-perfect short film to watch over and over and over again.


End note

If you've enjoyed this, I'd love it if you shared it with a friend. You can send them here to sign up.

I'll be sending out these emails once per month, and I'm happy you're along for the ride. I'm trying to make it one of the best things that arrives in your inbox each month, so thoughts and feedback are always appreciated. You can just reply to this email.

Also, if you find anything interesting, send it my way.


Thanks for reading. Until next time, Dann

1 Comment
The Dann Chronicles
The Dann Chronicles Podcast
An awesome audio companion to the monthly Dann Chronicles email newsletter. It's more than just the stories, it's WHY the stories, too.